مجموعة مخرجين

باتريس دوبيس
مدير / رئيس منسق الحدث

السيدة دوبيس معلمة مخضرمة في مجال التربية الخاصة. تنقل خبرتها كمدرس ومدير مدرسة وأستاذة جامعية إلى هذه اللجنة. حصلت على جائزة الامتياز من جمعية لونغ آيلاند للمعلمين الخاصين. السيدة Dobies هي مناصرة محترمة للأطفال. إنها ملتزمة بالتميز والإنصاف للطلاب الذين تخدمهم.

مارسيلا بيزو ، دكتوراه ABD ، LMHC
مدير / رئيس الاتصال المجتمعي

مقال تم نشره مؤخرًا وخضع لمراجعة الأقران:

الخطاب السياسي والشيخوخة في سنغافورة النيوليبرالية: نماذج المواطنة وكبار السن ومبادرات السياسة ، مجلة الشيخوخة والسياسة الاجتماعية (2020)

روبرت كالان

اميليا جارسيا

مارسيلا مرشحة لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في كلية الخدمة الاجتماعية بجامعة أديلفي. تركز اهتماماتها البحثية على الأشكال المؤسسية للقمع ، والحواجز التنظيمية لتعزيز العدالة الاجتماعية ، والتفاوتات الاقتصادية عند تقاطع العرق والجنس والجنس.  أسست مارسيلا ممارسة للصحة السلوكية في إيست ميدو حيث تعمل كمستشارة للصحة العقلية مرخصة من ولاية نيويورك تقدم تدخلات علاجية للبالغين. يشمل تدريبها بعد التخرج شهادة في العلاج السلوكي المعرفي الذي يتم استخدامه كطريقة أساسية للتدخلات العلاجية.  كعضو نشط في مجتمعها ، فهي عضو في المجلس التنفيذي لغرفة التجارة الشرقية ، وعضو مؤسس في Equity4LIYouth.org.  تشمل بعض جوائزها وشهاداتها: Hometown Hero ، لخدمة المجتمع ، East Meadow Herald (يوليو 2020) ، Town of Hempstead Citation للعمل المجتمعي مع غرفة التجارة (يناير 2020) و A State Senator إعلان للعمل المجتمعي مع غرفة التجارة (يناير 2020).

 

في أوقات فراغها ، تحب مارسيلا الأنشطة البدنية والسفر والتعرف على ثقافات جديدة والطهي وزراعة حديقتها. تقيم مارسيلا مع عائلتها في مقاطعة ناسو.

يتمتع السيد كالان بأكثر من 31 عامًا من الخبرة كأمين مدرسة ، بما في ذلك 30 عامًا كمشرف. كما عمل كمندوب لاتحاد CSEA لمدة 16 عامًا بصفته أمين الصندوق ونائب الرئيس والرئيس الحالي للوحدة التي يمثلها. في منطقته هو عضو نشط في لجنة الاستدامة ، ولجنة القيادة الاستراتيجية والتخطيط ، وعمل في لجنة بوند. كما أنه يشارك في المقابلات المتعلقة بمواقف التنظيف والحراسة والصيانة والأرض. السيد Callan حاصل على 9 شهادات تنظيف صديقة للبيئة من NYOGS ، وهو مشغل صهاريج تخزين تحت الأرض من الفئة "A" ومعتمد في مسببات الأمراض المنقولة بالدم.

السيدة غارسيا هي مديرة مدرسة إيست ميدو ولديها 16 عامًا من الخبرة في التعليم في مختلف القدرات. بدأت السيدة جارسيا حياتها المهنية مع إدارة التعليم بمدينة نيويورك كمعلمة ومطور للموظفين ومسؤول. قبل أن تصبح معلمة ، عملت السيدة غارسيا في التعليم العالي كمديرة لقاعة الإقامة ثم كمساعدة مدير الحياة السكنية. السيدة جارسيا هي متعلمة مدى الحياة وتقود بالقدوة حيث حصلت على ثلاث درجات ماجستير وتعمل حاليًا للحصول على درجة الدكتوراه في القيادة التربوية والسياساتية. إنها تؤمن بالعمل معًا من أجل الصالح العام. السيدة جارسيا مناصرة للشباب وتعتقد أن كل شخص يستحق فرصة عادلة.  

    "لوحدنا لا نستطيع أن نفعل سوى القليل ؛ معا يمكننا فعل الكثير ". - هيلين كيلر

​دكتور. جاكى هاريس

تعمل الدكتورة جاكلين هاريس كمديرة تنفيذية لشركة Access 7 Services، Inc. حيث تعد جزءًا لا يتجزأ من العلامة التجارية وتنسيق الخدمات والتوظيف والعمليات اليومية لهذه الوكالة التي توفر دعمًا وخدمات التعليم الخاص عبر لونغ آيلاند. كما أنها تستخدم مهاراتها القيادية لتعمل كمديرة برامج لسلسلة تمكين الشباب التابعة لمؤسسة Cedarmore ، وتنسيق برامج Girlz Talk و BoyzN2Men ذات الصلة ثقافيًا للشباب المحرومين. تم الاعتراف بعملها الملحوظ في عدم التناسب والوصول والمساواة محليًا وإقليميًا ووطنًا.

آلان هوديش ، ESQ.

آلان ب. هوديش ، إسق. يمارس مهنة القانون في جاردن سيتي ، نيويورك.  قبل التحاقه بكلية الحقوق بجامعة سانت جون ، قام السيد هوديش بالتدريس لأكثر من عشرين عامًا في منطقة مدرسة هيمبستيد. قام بتدريب كل من كرة القدم واللاكروس أثناء وجوده في Hempstead.  

تشمل خدمته المجتمعية غرفة East Meadow التجارية: الرئيس السابق 2003 ، ورجل العام 2014 ، ورجل الأعمال للعام 2008 ، ورئيس برنامج المقابلة الصورية السنوي للغرفة الذي عقد لطلاب مدرسة East Meadow.

قام السيد هوديش أيضًا بتطوير برنامج Mentor التابع لنقابة المحامين في مقاطعة ناسو ويرأسه حاليًا ، والذي سيدخل عامه الخامس والعشرين ، والذي يجمع القضاة والمحامين جنبًا إلى جنب مع الطلاب "المعرضين للخطر" في عشرة مجتمعات في جميع أنحاء مقاطعة ناسو بما في ذلك كلارك ووودلاند ميدل. مدارس في منطقة إيست ميدو التعليمية

جلين ستيوارت

أنا حاليًا المدير المساعد للتعليم الخاص وخدمات شؤون الموظفين في منطقة المدارس الحرة التابعة لاتحاد فريبورت ، وقد شغلت هذا المنصب على مدار السنوات الثماني الماضية.  بصفتي ، أشرف على موظفي التعليم الخاص والتلاميذ ، وأقوم بتقييم نمو الطلاب ، وعقد اجتماعات لجنة التعليم الخاص ، واجتماعات BOCES ، واجتماعات تحديد المظاهر باللغتين الإنجليزية والإسبانية. أقوم أيضًا بحل مشكلات وزارة التعليم بالولاية واستكمال التقارير الإلزامية. أنا بارع في لوائح ولاية نيويورك ، الجزء 200 ، وأنا قادر على تطبيقها على أي مستوى.

 

قبل هذا المنصب ، عملت في منصب منسق قسم التربية الخاصة 6-12 في منطقة مدرسة جاردن سيتي يونيون الحرة. عملت أيضًا في منطقة مدارس Central Islip Union Free School District بصفتها مديرًا للتعليم الخاص ومديرًا للتربية الخاصة وخدمات شؤون الموظفين. بدأت تجربتي الإدارية في المنطقة التعليمية الجنوبية المركزية بصفتي رئيس CPSE / أخصائي علم نفس المنطقة. عملت أيضًا في مجلس التعليم بمدينة نيويورك بصفتي أخصائية علم نفس في مدرسة ثنائية اللغة (إسبانية) بالإضافة إلى عالمة نفس مدرسة أحادية اللغة. أنا متحمس للغاية للتعليم وبدأت رحلتي التعليمية كمدرس للرياضيات والعلوم في المدرسة الإعدادية بعد التخرج مباشرة من الكلية.

Dafny Irizarry

April Francis-Taylor

Mathew Cerverizzo

Matt is currently a student at Pace University, majoring in Educational Leadership, on a path to completing an Ed.M., M.P.A., and SDBL  Matt is working on his internship hours at the East Meadow School District.

Board of Directors

PATRICE DOBIES
Director/Event Coordinator Chair

Ms. Dobies is a veteran educator in the field of special education. She brings her experience as teacher, school administrator and college professor to this committee. She has received the Award of Distinction from the Long Island Association of Special Educators. Ms. Dobies is a well-respected advocate for children. She is committed to excellence and equity for the students she serves.

MARCELLA PIZZO, PH.D. ABD, LMHC
Director/Community Liaison Chair

Recently Published Peer-Reviewed Article:

Political Discourse and Aging in a Neoliberal Singapore: Models of Citizenship, Older Adults and Policy Initiatives, Journal of Aging & Social Policy (2020)

ROBERT CALLAN

AMELIA GARCIA

Marcella is a Doctoral Candidate at Adelphi University’s School of Social Work. Her research interests are focused on institutionalized forms of oppression, organizational barriers to promoting social justice, and economic disparities at the intersection of race, gender, and sexuality.  Marcella founded a behavioral health practice in East Meadow where she works as New York State Licensed Mental Health Counselor that provides therapeutic interventions to adults. Her post graduate training includes certification in Cognitive Behavioral Therapy that is utilized as a primary method of treatment interventions.  As an active member of her community, she is on the executive board of the East Meadow Chamber of Commerce, and a founding board member of Equity4LIYouth.org.  Some of her awards and recognitions include: Hometown Hero, for Community Service, East Meadow Herald (July 2020), Town of Hempstead Citation for Community work with Chamber of Commerce (January 2020) and A State Senator Proclamation for Community work with Chamber of Commerce (January 2020).

 

In her spare time, Marcella loves physical activities, traveling and experiencing new cultures, cooking, and cultivating her garden. Marcella resides in Nassau county with her family.

Mr. Callan has over 31 years experience as a school custodian, including 30 years as a supervisor. He has also served as a CSEA union delegate for 16 years in the capacity of treasurer, Vice President and is the current President of the unit he represents. In his district he is an active member of the Sustainability Committee, the Strategic Leadership and Planning Committee and served on the Bond Committee. He is also involved with the interviews pertaining to cleaning, custodial, maintenance and grounds positions. Mr. Callan holds 9 green cleaning certifications from NYOGS, is a certified class "A" Underground Storage Tank Operator and certified in Bloodborne pathogens.

Mrs. Garcia is a Principal in the East Meadow School district and has 16 years of experience in education in different capacities. Mrs. Garcia started her career with the New York City Department of Education as a teacher, staff developer, and administrator. Prior to becoming an educator, Mrs. Garcia worked in higher education as a Residence Hall Director and then as an Assistant Director of Residential Life. Mrs. Garcia is a lifelong learner and leads by example as she obtained three master’s degrees and is currently working towards her doctoral degree in Educational & Policy Leadership. She believes in working together for the greater good. Mrs. Garcia is an advocate for youth and thinks everyone deserves a fair chance. 

     “Alone we can do so little; TOGETHER we can do so much.” – Helen Keller

DR. JACCI HARRIS

Dr. Jacqueline Harris serves as Executive Director for Access 7 Services, Inc. where she is an integral part of the branding, coordination of services, recruitment, and daily operations of this agency that provides special education supports and services across Long Island. She also uses her leadership skills to serve as the Program Director for the Cedarmore Corporation’s Youth Empowerment Series, coordinating the culturally relevant Girlz Talk and BoyzN2Men programs for underserved youth. Her notable work on disproportionality, access, and equity has been recognized locally, regionally, and nationally.

ALAN HODISH, ESQ.

GLENN STEWART

I am currently the Assistant Director of Special Education and Pupil Personnel Services for the Freeport Union Free School District and have been in this position for the past eight years.  In my capacity, I supervise the Special Education and Pupil Personnel Staff, evaluate student growth, and conduct Committee on Special Education Meetings, BOCES Meetings, and Manifestation Determination Meetings in both English and Spanish. I also resolve State Education Department issues and complete mandated reports. I am proficient in the New York State Part 200 Regulations and am able to apply them on any level.

 

Prior to this position, I served in the capacity of the 6-12 Special Education Department Coordinator for the Garden City Union Free School District. I also worked for the Central Islip Union Free School District in the capacity of Administrator for Special Education and Director of Special Education and Pupil Personnel Services. My administrative experience began at the South Country Central School District as the CPSE Chairman/District Psychologist. I also worked at the New York City Board of Education as a Bilingual (Spanish) School Psychologist as well as a Monolingual School Psychologist. I am extremely passionate about education and started off my educational journey as a middle school mathematics and science teacher straight out of college.

Alan B. Hodish, Esq. maintains a law practice in Garden City, New York.  Prior to attending law school at St. John’s University, Mr. Hodish taught for more than twenty years in the Hempstead School District. He coached both football and lacrosse while at Hempstead.  

His community service includes the East Meadow Chamber of Commerce: Past President 2003, Man of the Year 2014, Business Person of the Year 2008, and Chair of the Chamber’s Annual Mock Interview Program held for East Meadow School District students.

Mr. Hodish also developed and currently chairs the Nassau County Bar Association’s Mentor Program, which will be entering its twenty-fifth year, that brings judges and lawyers together with “at risk” students in ten communities throughout Nassau County including both Clarke and Woodland Middle schools in the East Meadow School District